The Missing Book

Kansas-City-Library2MS

On the outside, it could be one of the coolest libraries in existence. Walking up to the Kansas City Public Library, you will be met with a bookshelf look displaying 22 works, most of which are popular and well known. The titles displayed include Romeo and Juliet, Fahrenheit 451, Charlotte’s Web, Lord of the Rings, To Kill a Mocking Bird, and Adventures of Huckleberry Finn. Each book is 25 feet tall.

While it isn’t that surprising, it is disappointing to see the works that were missing. No, I’m not upset that my favorite author’s books are missing, or even that some other popular book series are absent. I’m talking about the best-selling book of all time. I’m talking about the book with, by far, the most ancient manuscript evidence to support it. I’m talking about the single greatest, most influential, and most beneficial book of all time: the Bible.

Every book on the wall is great in its own right. And yet every one of them pales in comparison to Scripture. Sure, perhaps others books bring more entertainment value, but none of them bring any salvation value. Just how important are the words of Scripture? Look at what Jesus said:

“I have come as Light into the world, so that everyone who believes in Me will not remain in darkness. If anyone hears My sayings and does not keep them, I do not judge him; for I did not come to judge the world, but to save the world. He who rejects Me and does not receive My sayings, has one who judges him; the word I spoke is what will judge him at the last day. For I did not speak on My own initiative, but the Father Himself who sent Me has given Me a commandment as to what to say and what to speak. I know that His commandment is eternal life; therefore the things I speak, I speak just as the Father has told Me” (John 12:46-50).

The words of the Bible will be our judge and our salvation if we heed them. We might have a test in school on the words of Romeo and Juliet or To Kill a Mocking Bird, but not in heaven. On Judgment Day, the words of Scripture will be held either for us or against us depending on how we kept them. On that day, many will wish they had put the Bible ahead of all other books. Let’s make sure we aren’t one of those people.

Leave a Reply

