Neva Morgan

1915650_101617913200074_951975_n

There are some women who are simply invaluable. Some who touch your life like no one else can. Some who shape the world around you. Some who always bring a smile to your face. Some who fill your mind with joyful memories. Some who have so impacted her family that she has also impacted the world as it is. One such woman was my grandmother.

Yesterday morning she passed on to her heavenly reward. A flood of emotions and feelings came over the family. Our physical side reminded us through tears of the personal bonds we shared. Our emotional side reminded us through memories of the love we enjoyed. Our spiritual side reminded us through pure joy and happiness that we can see her again in heaven. Our logical side made the loss of our loved one so much more bearable because of the hope we have of heaven (1 Thessalonians 4:13-18).

As I spent time thinking and remembering the good times with my grandmother, I found my mind shifting to great women in the Bible. There are places in Scripture where wonderful, glowing praise is given to women. However, many times this praise is articulated in just a few words in a verse or two. It makes us wonder what all they did behind the scenes. Although we will never know the details, one thing we do know is they were doing things right. Once such example is found in 2 Timothy 1:5. Paul tells the young Timothy, “For I am mindful of the sincere faith within you, which first dwelt in your grandmother Lois and your mother Eunice, and I am sure that it is in you as well.”

Like Timothy, in my life I’m thankful to be surrounded by several godly women like my grandmother. Sometimes I wonder if Paul had been writing to encourage me if he would have also reminded me of the incredible people I have had in my life to help me in my faith.

How about you? Even if it isn’t a mother or a grandmother, certainly there has been someone who has drastically impacted your faith. It’s important for us to cherish, remember, and imitate their fine example of faith. One day we will be passing on this example of faith to others as well. Let’s be the type of person worth imitating, just as our spiritual role models, such as my grandmother, are also worth imitating.

4 thoughts on “Neva Morgan

  1. Dear Brett
    My deepest condolences to you and your family Sir, that was a wonderful tribute to a wonderful grandma I am sure. May you all be comforted with strength, hope, and His Peace in your lives… God Bless you and your family my brother. Daily prayers for you all and your ministries

  2. Brett, that was so beautifully said! I’m glad you had a good relationship with her and saw her at church often, even though I rarely got her up to see you in the front rows. Thank you for your thoughts and taking the time to write them down. I can’t wait to see what else you have to say about her on friday! Love you.

Leave a Reply

