Most Dangerous Cities In America

ezy_8819

No matter where you live, if you’ve been there for any significant length of time, then you tend to know where the “rough” parts of town are. However, some cities are more dangerous than most. Forbes recently released the most dangerous cities in America, and here are the ones that made the list:

  1. Detroit, MI.
  2. Memphis, TN.
  3. Oakland, CA.
  4. Louis, MO.
  5. Birmingham, AL.
  6. Milwaukee, WI.
  7. Baltimore, MD.
  8. Cleveland, OH.
  9. Stockton, CA.
  10. Indianapolis, IN.

It’s discouraging to think about how much crime is in our world. It’s scary to walk the streets and think about the potential danger. It raises concern for our family, especially our women and children. But this is what makes the idea of heaven even more appealing. In Revelation 21, we see a place that will be perfectly and eternally secure for a number of reasons.

  1. God is there (vs. 3).
  2. It has great and high walls (vs. 12).
  3. 12 angels protect the 12 gates (vs. 12-13).
  4. It has a strong foundation (vs. 14).
  5. It is in a cube shape (vs. 15-16), which was considered to be extremely strong.
  6. The gates will never be closed because there will not be any threats (vs. 25).

Even though the writer is speaking symbolically, to the first-century mind this would have painted the picture of an impenetrable city. Even today, heaven will be the safest place just because God is there. This is why God explains that there will be no death, mourning, crying, pain, or evil in heaven (vs. 4, 27). There won’t even be any night (vs. 23-25).

It’s ironic that the most secure place ever will be heaven because God is there, and yet the most dangerous cities on earth are in the places where God has been removed from the picture. It’s unfortunate that so many of our cities are riddled with crime, but this is why we can look forward to heaven and the eternally safe and secure place it will be. Heaven will be worth the effort. Let’s make sure we get there!

5 thoughts on “Most Dangerous Cities In America

  1. Being a Detroit myself, there are some places where it’s not safe and others where you wouldn’t want to stop for gas at noon. However the city is changing slowly but surely. Detroit always gets a bad rap but whatever. We’re still here. The only thing I disagree with you on is saying God isn’t there because it’s not safe. Psalms 139: 7-8 pretty says it well: Whither shall I go from thy spirit? or whither shall I flee from thy presence? If I ascend up into heaven, thou art there: if I make my bed in hell, behold, thou art there.

    Other than that, great post!

    • Thanks for the reply Parker. I’m glad to hear that Detroit is changing. And I’m sure there are a lot of very good, quality people there, you being one of them :).

      I agree with you. What I meant when I said “yet the most dangerous cities on earth are in the places where God is not,” is not that God is completely absent from the city. There are faithful people in every city, and as you pointed out, God is omnipresent, He is everywhere. But my point is, the reason there is so much crime in one place or another is because they are not focused on following God. That is why sin exists in the first place, because people have removed God from the picture. Hopefully that clarifies.

      • Oh you didn’t have to change anything at all. I just added my two cents. I was in the downtown area a few days ago for one thing or another and I was about to turn down a street with no light. It was like eleven at night. My granny was in the car with me and we both were like, “Nope!”

        But I get your point and thank you for taking time out to explain it to me. I’m nobody and I’m glad you felt it necessary to easy any possible discomfiture I may have had. God bless!

Leave a Reply

