My Cup Overflows

712928_tooverflow

Last Friday at our Future Preachers Training Camp, I had the wonderful opportunity to listen to 35 sermons. As you might imagine, my listening capabilities were maxed out, my concentration reached its limit, and my mind felt fatigued. However, while my physical body felt tired, this experience left my spiritual cup overflowing for several reasons.

My cup overflowed because of the depth many of these sermons delivered.

My cup overflowed because of the personal application I was able to apply from these lessons.

My cup overflowed because of the dedication these young men put into their preaching.

My cup overflowed because of the hours and days these young men spent in preparation.

My cup overflowed because of the honest way they studied and applied the Bible.

My cup overflowed because of the passion they displayed in the gospel message.

My cup overflowed because of the confidence I felt for the future of the church.

My cup overflowed because many of these young men will fill pulpits one day.

I’m very glad that I had the chance to listen to these young men pour their hearts out in their sermons. While it was physically taxing, it was spiritually encouraging and fulfilling. How refreshing it is to see guys who are showing an example to us in their “speech, conduct, love, faith and purity” (1 Timothy 4:12). How assuring it is to know there are parent out there who are training up a child in the way he should go, so that even when he is old he will not depart from it (Proverbs 22:6). How wonderful it is to see that parents and congregations are making sure the important things about the Lord are being taught to these young men (Deuteronomy 4:9; 11:19).

At times there is a lot of discouragement about today’s youth. However, when I listen to 35 teen guys preach the Word, I see sincere young men, dedicated parents, and invested congregations. It’s exciting to think about where God will use and lead these great young men in the future. Let’s keep on training up our youth in the Lord!

Leave a Reply

