Stressed Out

stress1

Henry Moorhouse, a preacher back in the 1800s, was feeling extremely stressed and very loaded down with the troubles and pressures that came through his ministry.  One day he came home and was greeted by his young daughter, Minnie, whose legs were paralyzed.  He was about to carry a package from the mail upstairs when Minnie said, “Daddy, I will carry that package upstairs for you.” Moorehouse replied, “Minnie dear, how can you possibly carry the package?  You cannot even carry yourself.”  With a smile on her face, Minnie said, “I know, Daddy. But if you will give me the package, I will hold it while you carry me.”  This sweet gesture from his daughter reminded Moorhouse of the wonderful relationship one can have with God.  When we rely on Him, He will carry us and our burdens.

In the book of Isaiah, God gave Israel a reminder, “Even to your old age I will be the same, and even to your graying years I will bear you!  I have done it, and I will carry you; and I will bear you and I will deliver you” (46:3-4).

The stresses of life can become extremely heavy and burdensome.  We don’t have to bear all of this alone.  He cares when we are stressed out.  Let’s remember that God is willing to take the load for us (Matthew 11:28-30; 1 Peter 5:7).  What a loving God we serve!

Leave a Reply

