Tim Tebow and Peyton Manning

Denver has been through a rollercoaster of emotions that last few days, especially in the sports world.  On Monday, the Broncos signed one of the best quarterbacks in the NFL, Peyton Manning.  I listened on the radio as caller after caller cheered and yelled with excitement.  But today, Tim Tebow was traded to the New York Jets.  The trade hit a couple of roadblocks and the Jets could lose the trade, but the bottom line is Tebow will no longer be a Denver Bronco.  Despite the fact that we received Hall of Fame bound, 4-Time MVP, 11-time Pro Bowler, and Super Bowl XLI Champion Peyton Manning, I found myself feeling sad, gloomy, and disappointed over the loss of Tim Tebow.  I felt more sad over the loss of Tebow than happy with the gain of Manning.  I began questioning why I was feeling this way.  Tebow hasn’t won a super bowl or been to the Pro Bowl, and he may not ever be as great of a player as Peyton Manning.  It was at this point that I realized what I am ACTUALLY a fan of.  Above all else, I am a fan of high character and morals.

Peyton Manning is not a bad guy by any means (quite the opposite actually), but in the sports world, Tebow is one-of-a-kind.  No one has ever stood out in sports as a great person and man of faith like Tebow.  Today we live in a culture and sports world that is full of selfishness, riches, immorality, and sinfulness.  Almost everywhere we look we see immoral trash and wicked people.  It has been such an amazing breath of fresh air to have a celebrity that is actually a good moral example.

I may never be a fan of the Jets or any other team Tebow may end up with, but one thing is for sure; I will never stop being a fan of people with high character and morals like Tebow.  Especially in the culture we live in today, we need people who are going to stand out from the crowd and stand up for the Lord.  No matter what you are a fan of, or where your sports loyalties lie, I hope you will join with me and be a never-ending fan of people of high character and morals (2 Peter 1:4-7).

2 thoughts on “Tim Tebow and Peyton Manning

Leave a Reply

