“Pass It On”

Home improvement is a never-ending battle.  It seems like there is always something to improve and something to fix.  In my latest home improvement project, I had to buy a large piece of wood.  Now, in the past I have had to buy large pieces of wood before and have by some miracle been able to fit them into my tiny 1991 Honda Accord.  Unfortunately, this time I was not so lucky.  So, there I sat in the Lowe’s parking lot, racking my brain for a way to get this piece of wood home.  I thought about putting it on top of my car and backing up the traffic as I made my way down Belleview at a snails pace.  I thought about calling up some friends with significantly larger vehicles.  None of these options were appealing at the moment.  So in the end, I went up to an older couple with a truck and just asked the man if he would mind hauling this piece of wood to my house for me.  He seemed a little hesitant at first, but he agreed.

A few minutes later we arrived outside my house.  I got out of my car, thanked the man sincerely, and offered him some money for his help.  The man threw up his hands, refused the money and said something I don’t think I will ever forget.  He said, “People have done things like this for me in the past.  You just make sure you do something good for someone else.  Make sure you pass it on.”  I don’t know anything about this man, but in the moment this really made an impression on me.  What a great attitude.

As I got to thinking about this, I realized that this is the exact attitude we should have as Christians.  Unfortunately, I have seen men like this have a more Christ-like attitude that people who carry the name “Christian.  We must remember the words of Galatians 6:10: “So then, while we have opportunity, let us do good to all people, and especially to those who are of the household of the faith.”  This Scripture is talking about this “pass it on” type of attitude that we should have.

As Christians, we should seek to help others and “pass it on.” We can make huge impressions on people if we are looking for opportunities to do good.  Hopefully by doing so we can make the biggest impression of all by showing them the good news about Christ.  Let’s always remember to have a “pass it on” attitude.  There is no telling how much good will come from it.

Leave a Reply

